Taking a holiday at home.

So this morning I was supposed to fly to Poland with my friend Aisha where we were going to meet up with my house mates who are already there, for a little holiday. But we didn’t go.

‘What!? Are you nuts!?’ was the reaction I got from Huw quite fairly I guess when I told him last night. There were a lot of circumstances piling up against us and when push came to shove we both wanted to stay (rather than catch 4 buses over 2 hours to get to the airport at 5am for example).

Aisha and I joked during our ‘I’m so glad you feel the same way!’ conversation that we wouldn’t tell any one we were still here and just pretend to be on holiday. Although I ruined that plan by going to my university class this morning and I have not been to any museums, drunk any Polish beer or slept in a sleeping bag, I have listened to about 4 episodes of This American Life, made the sewed goods above, done some yoga, cleaned my bike and rearranged my room a bit. I’ve also enjoyed eating the leftovers of the roast chicken that me, Ryan, Jake and Zoe had yesterday because all the vegans are away.

This is a sewing project I’ve been meaning to start for a long time but still needs a few more hankies. Alas, this will have to wait until after Easter when I’m back to charity shops. IMGP9519

Tomorrow I am going to catch up on lots of reading for university, and maybe because I’m on holiday time, I am actually really looking forward to it. Taking a holiday in this context means taking a break from myself – the worried, distracted and stressed version of myself – and hopefully in time I’ll learn how to take little holidays every day during my meditation!

Sweet dreams,

Beth x

p.s. I’m going to be a guest baker for this event of sordid bike and cake based love spreading in a few weeks. I’ve got delicious plans.

This entry was published on March 4, 2013 at 11:14 pm. It’s filed under Bikes, College, Home, London, New Skills, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

